Your Guide to the Percy Jackson World

After a spectacularly awful movie adaption in 2010, Percy Jackson is officially getting rebooted this month with a Disney+ TV show! However, if you’re just looking to jump into the Percy Jackson world, it can be kind of intimidating, since there currently 25 (yes, you read that right. 25!) books set in Percy’s world. With more to come!

So, where do you start if you want to jump into the Greek/Roman world Rick Riordan has created? Keeping reading to find out!

Percy Jackson Reading Order

We’ll begin with the original five books in the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series, with a bonus novella thrown in featuring a collection of short stories that take place throughout the series.

The Lightning Thief

The Sea of Monsters

The Titan's Curse

The Battle of the Labyrinth

The Demigod Files

The Last Olympian

The next series picks up a few months after The Last Olympian, inspired by the prophecy at the end of the book, with a whole set of new characters. Once you finish, check out some of the bonus books featuring characters from The Kane Chronicles (Demigods & Magicians) and Percy’s take on Greek mythology.

The Lost Hero

The Son of Neptune

The Demigod Diaries

The Mark of Athena

The House of Hades

The Blood of Olympus

Demigods & Magicians

Percy Jackson's Greek Gods

Percy Jackson's Greek Heroes

The latest book in the Percy Jackson world happens between the Heroes of Olympus and the Trials of Apollo, and will eventually be a trilogy! It’s all about Percy’s adventures applying to college. You'll definitely want to read this after reading Heroes of Olympus, as there are spoilers for that series in this book.

The Chalice of the Gods

The final series set in this world doesn’t technically feature Percy as a main character, but he does make a few appearances throughout. Instead, we get to follow the god Apollo as he tries to gain back his godly status.

Percy Jackson and the Singer of Apollo

The Hidden Oracle

The Dark Prophecy

Camp Half-Blood Confidential

The Burning Maze

The Tyrant's Tomb

Camp Jupiter Classified

The Tower of Nero

The final book included here also isn’t a Percy Jackson centric story (we get to hear from Nico Di Angelo), but is still set in the same world. It includes spoilers for The Trials of Apollo, though, so definitely read this one at the end.

The Sun and the Star